Blogger Recognition Award

Today I bring to you some book-bloggish advice. Or I’ll try my best at it!

I was tagged by The Unicorn Wishes for this award despite the fact that I haven’t been in the blogging game for too long. Thank you so much for your confidence in me and my blog!! Emoji Pngs (9)

blogger-reciogn-award1

arrow5

rules

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Select 10 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

startedI remember as if it were yesterday~~~~~ (cue story time)

I found BookTube and my mind was blown (in a good way). I’ve always played around with the idea of having my own YouTube channel, but I don’t think I have what it takes to create videos people would want to watch (mainly I’m not the most attractive person in the world and also not wealthy enough to sustain the coveted “YouTube famous” lifestyle).

But BookTube was different. It no longer focused so much on how pretty the vlogger was, but rather how pretty their bookshelf was. Through BookTube I found Goodreads, which was everything my super-organized approach to life and reading needed. Then it was Bookstagram I immersed myself into, but it wasn’t enough for me. I wanted a more substantial way to claim my own space in the book community and I thought it best to create a blog. Once that thought popped into my head, I didn’t wait. I immediately thought of a domain and began writing my first post.

The first month of my blog wasn’t me posting my thoughts, but rather searching for blogs like mine. I found a lot of inspiration there and learned quite a few things since then.

advice

Take some time to design! Probably some of the most enjoyable times I’ve had with this blog has been coming up with my own design. Take some time to blog hop. What are some of your favorite blogs doing with graphics that you simply just love?

However, don’t take too much inspiration from them and simply copy everything they’ve created. It’s tempting to do because you love the look of it so much, but be honest with yourself – those graphics won’t match the voice or personality of your own blog.

What are some of your favorite things aside from books? Mine is cats. Hence my header image and sidebar icons! Emoji Pngs (4)

Now how do you go about finding all the things it takes to create these graphics? I mostly find my free fonts on dafont.com and behance.net. What about the free graphics? Try Angie Makes. Or simply google terms like “free graphics” or “free watercolors.” This is how I went about finding EVERYTHING. And don’t forget that Pinterest is your friend.

I use Photoshop to put all these things together, but I’m sure there are other programs you can use.

Join the conversation. Please don’t be shy to comment on someone’s blog post. You admire their blog? You love the discussion post they just made? Tell them!

Start a conversation with them on what books you like and why you like them. Ask them for blogging advice. Heck, they may already have a series for blogging tips! Check out A Frolic Through Fiction’s series on this. Very helpful pointers!

In fact, it’s often the blogs that comment on my post that I decide to look at. If they also have an attractive blog design + have the same reading tastes, I am quick to hit the follow button!

tag

 My Paper Infinity
 World of Books
Emma The Book Lover
Chapter Adventures
Closet Readers

If you’ve already done this, please don’t feel obligated to do it again!

textdivider

Well, hopefully you found my advice somewhat helpful!

Chat with you later!

signature

connect2

insta                     goodreads                        bloglovin

 

14 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. I also think design is an incredibly important part that we should all dedicate our time to when starting our blogs because, if you don’t like how it looks, it will not motivate you to keep the blog alive. Besides, it also shows others that you don’t care so much about it if you don’t personalize it one bit. Of course, content is the most important aspect of a blog, but when I had my design ready, I felt so accomplished and motivated!
    I loove your design, it’s adorable ❤
    Thank you so much for the nomination 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

