Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Books to Read in the Summer

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where we list our top tens!

textdivider

This week was a freebie summer topic so I decided to go with my favorite books to read during the summer season (I apologize to everyone who lives somewhere where winter is happening at the moment. That must suck). My personal preference for a good summer read is a story that is light and whimsical and thus that summarizes my top ten choices.

Let’s get to it!

arrow1

read

5915

 

I consider this to be a really easy and light read (mainly because I’m comparing it to The Lord of the Rings, which I deem to be dense and dark). I mean you really can’t get more whimsical than “In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.” 

 

 

 

18300260

 

This is probably one of my favorite Jane Austen novels for the sole reason of it being such a quick-paced read. I can definitely see myself reading this on the beach whilst I work on my sunburn.

 

 

 

28187

 

This is a really fun book and series. The beginning installment to the series is pretty light. Lots of adventure and comedy and references to Greek mythology. All around a good time! Not to mention that Camp Half Blood is a summer camp soooo… *perfect*

 

 

 

25810644

 

Dang does this book have some bad ratings, or what? But I enjoyed it for what it was. I did like the subtle mentions of Houston (aaaaayyy H-Town!!) and the links to the mysterious magic and past of Puerto Rico. All around it was very whimsical and if you’re reading on a beach you may feel a little creeped out at times, but I don’t think that’s always a bad thing…

 

 

170448

 

 

Now I will not be so bold as to say this is a light story because it’s not, but it’s a quick read, with some interesting farm animals, and it’s a classic that I recommend everyone to read. “All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.”

 

 

Aaaand because I don’t read too many light and fluffy books, here are some I’d like to pick up this summer!

tbr

18692431
A girl who is allergic to everything, but then meets some dude who changes her perspective on life or some other mumbo-jumbo… Emoji Pngs (4)It’s been made into a movie and I gotta read this stat before everyone is giffing spoilers!

 

 

 

 
20893527

 

A young orphan seeking a family and finds adventure. Sounds very heart-warming and perfect for summer.

 

 

 

 

31447601
Not gonna lie, I’m associating this with Pitch Perfect already, which I think those movies are ridiculously hilarious! A girl decides to cross-dress in order to audition for this really badass all-male acapella group and gets up to lots of romantic shenanigans with boys and girls alike (Bisexual representation? Can I get a HELL YES?!). It sounds like sooo much fun!

 

 

32051720

 

The cover alone screams WHIMSY at me. It isn’t out yet, but the synopsis is very intriguing. The powers that the characters have is the “ability to manipulate beauty.” Say whaaaat? Just what I need! Some sorcerer to manipulate everyone’s vision so that they see me having a rocking beach body this summer! Emoji Pngs (13)

 

 

30304221

 

A mystery novel about a missing wife told through various letters written by said wife addressed to the man she left behind. Sounds very interesting and I’m a sucker for a good mystery novel.

Do you have certain books that you associate with a season?

What are some of your favorite books to read in the summer?

letmeknow

Ttyl!

signature

connect2

insta                     goodreads                        bloglovin

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Books to Read in the Summer

  1. Great picks! I really want to read everything, everything and noteworthy this summer as well! I’ve heard mixed things about everything, everything but I really want to read it before the film comes out and see how I like it. But I’ve heard AMAZING things about noteworthy!

    Like

      • I’m going to consider this point – I may or may not end up buying this boxset, we will see. I’ve already been in said shop twice and picked it up but put it back down and walked out, which may have been the sensible thing to do… hmmm :’L

        Like

  2. The Hobbit is such a fun book! I think it’s easy to forget how whimsical the book itself is after watching the movies, which are much darker. Animal Farm is such a disturbing read, but I think that’s good. It’s the books that disturb us that often make the most impact us and make us truly sit down and think, and I think Animal Farm communicates a really important message everyone should think about.

    Noteworthy has been a “maybe” read for me for quite a while, so I look forward to hearing your thoughts! This summer, I plan to read Note to Self by Connor Franta, Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia, and Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh. 🙂

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read Everything, Everything and although it isn’t my favourite it is cute, super fast paced and perfect for summer! 😀

    Like

  4. Okay first of all, can I say that I LOOOOOOVE how aesthetic your blog looks??? *heart eyes* Anyways, LIGHTNING THIEF IS BOSS. One of my favorite reads. ❤ And I've heard meh things about Everything, Everything — plus that it has insta-love and I HATE insta-love. XD I really need to read Noteworthy, and AGHAGHGAH Wicked Like a Wildfire SOUNDS SO AMAZING I NEED.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

