The Candy Book Tag

This tag is so unique and fun! Thank you so much to Beth over at Reading Every Night for tagging me!

arrow4

Apples:
Ah. Healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

601254

This book is talked about so often as being super amazing and yadda yadda yadda. It’s on my TBR – I even own it, but I’m not very excited to read it…

Milk Chocolate:
This is a book you’d recommend to absolutely EVERYONE.

3

It’s a perfect series. It teaches so many great lessons and on top of it all is Hogwarts – where you can always go to feel safe, accepted, and welcome.

Black Jellybeans:
Why do these exist??

29056083

I hated it. Listen, I understand it’s a play. I understand it is supposed to be seen rather than read. However, it really gets my goat that J.K. Rowling was talking to everyone and their mom about how incredible this was – essentially as if she was promoting it as canon. Obviously, I had to read it. I had to know what all the fuss was about.

Well, this is one book/play/whatever that is incredibly overhyped. I honestly felt as if it attempted to ruin an entire series by completely destroying characters that were are already fully formed: Harry, Ron, Hermione, and even Voldemort. They were completely different people in The Cursed Child. I will admit though that the saving grace to this was Scorpius. I loved him to bits.

Chocolate Kisses:
Awww this novel had the best romance.

18300260

Emma is my favorite novel by Jane Austen. It was just so much fun. I absolutely loved being able to see Emma grow into a completely different person by the end of it and then finally be with Mr. Right after so much build up and romantic tension!

Gummy Spiders:
Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

22557272

This was such a great book. I hadn’t read a mystery in a very long time when I decided to pick this one up so The Girl on the Train completely blew my mind. The twist hit me out of nowhere. I experienced whiplash for a good week after finishing it.

Jumbo Lollipop:
This took you forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

6307964

I tried to re-read this series last year and got stuck on this one. Consequently, my re-read was abandoned.

Cotton Candy:
Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do). Think children’s or MG fiction.

632544

I looooved these as a kid! Especially the one where he has to ride the “Drop of Doom” and try and look as if he isn’t afraid of elevators. Classic.

tag

Honestly, I just keep tagging the same blogs over and over again and I don’t want to be annoying so I’m not going to tag anyone in specific. Take this as an invitation if you’d like to do this!

signature

connect2

instaicon                     goodreads                        bloglovin

twittericon

13 thoughts on “The Candy Book Tag

  1. I love your answers, Bridget! I haven’t read Cursed Child simply because I’ve heard spoilers about it and I was so disappointed / angry / upset I told myself I’m going to pretend it doesn’t exist. I’m serious. I refused to acknowledge that anything in the book is canon. Just, no. As you can see, I’m very passionate about the subject 😀
    As for Wuthering Heights, you should give it a chance! It’s a bit slow in the beginning and hard to get into, but it’s really worth it. It’s got one of the most iconic romances ever and Heathcliff is…something else. I’ll leave it at that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 500% agree with you about Cursed Child. It pains me to admit that I actually lost a bit of respect for JKR for saying it was canon, it was so terrible. It was just…such an insult to the whole Harry Potter universe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg same… I was too afraid to admit that in the post though for fear of an angry mob with pitchforks coming after me, but 100% Cursed Child was JKR’s biggest money grabbing scam.

      Like

      • Lol I mentioned hating Cursed Child in a recent post and felt a bit of the same…but I felt too strongly about it to remain silent!! Besides, I feel like people either hate it or love it anyway. I never thought JKR would stoop to that level, and I was honestly a little insulted by the whole thing. How can any of that be canon?? IT’S SO DUMB. But I do agree with you about Scorpius, he was sweet.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Great picks for this tag Bridget, and I loved reading your answers as well. 😀
    Oh yes the whole Harry Potter series is one I would highly recommend to anyone and everyone. Plus it’s a series that can stand the test of time because one of my cousins is just getting into the series, she loves it as much as I do, and she’s under ten! I know plenty of people share your opinion about The Cursed Child too, it’s a shame because I remember how excited we all were when the eight book was actually announced. 🙂
    Again great answers, and thanks for taking part too! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

