Favorite Rainy Day Reads

Now that Hurricane season is upon us, rainy days are becoming more and more common.

Personally, I find something either extremely nostalgic or a mystery novel to be the perfect choice for one of these dreary days.

Without further ado, here’s my list!

arrow4

9723667

I mean you really can’t get any more iconic than this particular mystery.

Agatha Christie is essentially… THE QUEEN of mysteries. (All hail the queen!)

You can tell just by her awesome signature.

And Then There Were None blew my freaking mind. I think I suspected the actual killer for 0.2 seconds lol

781110

I believe I read this way back when I was in the 7th grade and I LOOOOVED IT. Now every time I read it or even think of it, I am always taken back to that time when I was first enraptured by this story.

Story time: I actually still remember that they were introducing this book, among others, to us in class as a way to get us excited about reading in general. A lady read a short passage to us and it was the one where her mom starts coughing up blood and I still remember my little 7th grader jaw dropping to the floor. Afterward my class raced to the library and there was a large gathering of girls all looking for this book and I snagged it right under their noses and they were all annoyed with me, but I didn’t care because I grabbed the last available copy and I was going to read it, dammit!! *heavy breathing* It’s a great memory. Really shows how desperate my reading lust for this book was haha

.

6238524

This book is just relaxing.

.

It’s the most laid back mystery ever.

.

Cat Mystery = Perfect for curling up on the couch/bed/comfy-area and sipping some coffee/tea whilst flipping the pages. And if you’re a cat lover, like myself, you will enjoy its charm.

.

5915

Do I include this book in too many lists? Yes.

Do I regret this decision? Not one bit.

The Hobbit is just so quaint. I loved every second of it.

And I love it even more when there is a slight drizzling of rain outside and you can hear the pitter-patter on your window while you’re bundled up under the blankets reading in the soft glow of the candlelight… ❤

.

22557272

Yet another fantastic mystery novel.

Can you blame me? Mystery novels are just perfect for rainy days!

I really didn’t see the ending coming despite all the unpopular opinions of this book being predictable (I’m apparently a very bad investigator).

But in my opinion, it’s one of those books where you’ll just HAVE to get to the end as soon as possible to find out what’s going on.

Aaaand last, but certainly not least…

3

You can’t get any more nostalgic than the first of the Harry Potter books. Any Harry Potter book would work for a rainy day for me, but the first (or the third as it was the first Harry Potter book I ever read) will always have the strongest sentimental hold over me.

When you’re reading it on a rainy day, you can’t help but transport yourself to Hogwarts where it’s raining outside your dormitory window and the owls are safely tucked in the Owlery so as not to get their feathers wet.

What are some of your favorite rainy day reads?

Did any of these make your list?

What does it take for a book to go onto your rainy day reading list?

letmeknow

Chat with you later!

signature

connect2

instaicon                     goodreads                        bloglovin

12 thoughts on “Favorite Rainy Day Reads

  1. Thanks for the recommendations! Fever 1793 looks amazing and I’ve actually never read an Agatha Christie book (shocking bc mystery thrillers is one of my fave genres) but will try that one first!

    Thanks!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely post, Bridget! I really enjoyed The Hobbit and YES to Harry Potter, a perfect read at any given time 🙂
    The books I read whenever it’s raining as always comfy reads, so it’s mostly a load of cute contemporaries ahah 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really love the idea of this post, and you have some great recommendations. Harry Potter is always a yes, no matter the weather, and I really should read The Hobbit. I started reading it a couple of years ago and enjoyed it, but then I stopped for some reason? *adds The Hobbit back to TBR* There, fixed it 😉 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

