Favorite Quotes

A couple of months ago, I began to flag the pages of books where a line or paragraph stood out to me.

So I thought it would be fun to take a look at all the quotes that have inspired me or were relatable or what have you throughout the course of my life thus far. Generally speaking, I think it takes a strong sense of hope and also talks of adventure for a quote to really capture my heart.

But mostly because we can’t get enough of great quotes – here are some of my favorites:

arrow5

“I can never read all the books I want; I can never be all the people I want and live all the lives I want. I can never train myself in all the skills I want. And why do I want? I want to live and feel all the shades, tones and variations of mental and physical experience possible in my life. And I am horribly limited.”
Sylvia Plath, The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

This is one of my all time favorites because it’s so relatable. It’s essentially the definition of the human experience. I think this is why so many people are drawn to books. You can experience different cultures, different genders, different religions, etc. all in the span of one novel.

“To the well-organized mind, death is but the next great adventure.”
J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

I don’t actually believe in the afterlife, but I really love this quote. Harry Potter is all about accepting and defeating the fear of death and to see any trial as a means for adventure.

“I wish it need not have happened in my time,” said Frodo.
“So do I,” said Gandalf, “and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

 

 

decide4
from my tumblr  lol

 

I’m not entirely sure why, but this quote gives me a great sense of calm in regards to my role in this universe. The key to life is to keep going and to always value and utilize the time we have left.

“Who controls the past controls the future. Who controls the present controls the past.”
George Orwell, 1984

This is such a scary truth. It’s a good quote to keep in mind considering the current times…

“The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.”
Jane Austen, Northanger Abbey

Real talk.

“There, peeping among the cloud-wrack above a dark tor high up in the mountains, Sam saw a white star twinkle for a while. The beauty of it smote his heart, as he looked up out of the forsaken land, and hope returned to him. For like a shaft, clear and cold, the thought pierced him that in the end the Shadow was only a small and passing thing: there was light and high beauty for ever beyond its reach.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Return of the King

I love this quote. I feel this is really the heart of The Lord of the Rings. No matter if Sauron conquered Middle Earth, he never would have been able to truly rid the world of good for there is “light and high beauty forever beyond its reach.” Just… ❤

“Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.”
C.S. Lewis

It me. Emoji Pngs (8)

And because this best describes everyone who stumbles across this blog…

“Sometimes you read a book so special that you want to carry it around with you for months after you’ve finished just to stay near it.”
Markus Zusak

I think all of us book lovers can relate to this feeling.

What does a quote need to capture your attention and heart?

What are some of your favorite quotes?

letmeknow

Until next time!

signature

connect2

instaicon                     goodreads                        bloglovin

NOTE: All gifs shown were created by me, but feel free to use wherever (just don’t claim as your own)!

16 thoughts on “Favorite Quotes

  1. What beautiful quotes — thank you so much for sharing them with us! I am quite partial to the last one simply because it’s such a gorgeous distillation of my (& so many of my friends’) feelings towards books. There’s nothing quite like that feeling of being close to a favourite one, no? xx

    Topaz (Six Impossible Things)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. AHHHHH I love the one from The Book Thief! It describes the exact feeling I had for the book itself! Awesome post, you should definitely do a part 2!

    Like

  3. Oh I love these quotes so, so much Bridget – especially the LOTR ones, and that C.S Lewis one as well ❤ Lovely post, thank you so much for sharing – I love reading quotes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

