My Enduring Love for The Lord of the Rings

Today is a very special post. I am here to inform you of my never wavering obsession for J.R.R. Tolkien’s most famous work, The Lord of the Rings, and to convince you to immerse yourself in this wonderful world with me!

IMG_2500.JPG

I was first introduced to this series when the movies came out. I was in middle school and I did not even know they were books. I was hooked. I was obsessed with the cast. I was obsessed with the costumes. I was obsessed with the Elves. I was obsessed with Middle Earth.

I still remember when a classmate of mine had one of the books for how the movie was created and she let me flip through it before class one day. I found out Merry and Pippin were cousins, not brothers like I originally assumed. This seemingly minuscule detail completely shocked me. And clearly on such a scale that I still remember that small fact today. What other minutiae eluded me?

When the trilogy was finished on screen I was heartbroken and lost. Did it really have to end? The movies were something I always looked forward to.

With seemingly no new content for the series in the future, I continued to watch the movies repeatedly. I refused to let these stories be forgotten.

It wasn’t until high school when a classmate of mine, now my long-term boyfriend (ayyy Emoji Pngs (7)), introduced me to the Extended Editions of those movies.

“There are Extended Editions?!”

I was flabbergasted! Not to mention excited as hell – finally what I needed most, to learn even more about Middle Earth, revealed itself.

I have never stopped watching those movies. I created a Tumblr dedicated solely to my love for the movies and I taught myself how to make gifs so I could combine my creativity and the fandom together.

In college I read the books. I read The Hobbit. In fact I’ve read it several times. It has now become my favorite novel by Tolkien thus far.

My friends are always sharing Lord of the Rings memes with me. My sister bought me The One True Ring years ago for my birthday and to this day I still wear it religiously no matter the occasion. I have a map of Middle Earth, a flag of Gondor, and movie posters of The Hobbit adorning my walls. I have Lord of the Rings themed bookmarks and candles that I think the Shire might smell like.

Everyone knows that I love The Lord of the Rings and I am here to share that with you.

I am truly in love with Middle Earth. It has been the longest lasting obsession that I have carried into my adult life, aside from Harry Potter. It has been one of the series that has most deeply affected me and my view of the world.

Middle Earth is a fantastical place full of all sorts of interesting creatures from the beautiful Elves to the vile Uruk Hai. The mythology that Tolkien created is just simply incredible. He created a language, a culture, and an expansive history. The story at its core is good triumphing over evil and the resounding theme throughout is “even the smallest person can change the course of the future.”

Tolkien’s universe is the be-all and end-all fantasy series. If you can honestly proclaim yourself a fantasy lover, do yourself a big favor and pick up these books!

signature

connect2

insta                     goodreads                        bloglovin

One thought on “My Enduring Love for The Lord of the Rings

Leave a Reply

